It’s my everything

Hello!

Backstreet-Boys-2017-ACM-AwardsYesterday, when I was scrolling through Youtube for music, I came across one video that literally made my evening, even though it was 1 am. It was a music video of Backstreet boys, singing at their concert about 2 months ago. Yes, they are back and they are even filming a new album. If you know me, you know that I was crazy about them more than 10 years ago. I probably know all of their songs by heart and my heart was literally melting when I heard those songs. It’s not about having a crush on them, but their music was and still is really good. And while being nostalgic as hell yesterday, I also started thinking what music do I even listen to. And that’s something I want to share with you today.

When I was thinking about my music choices, I came to a conclusion that I love ballads and that I used to love boybands. A lot. Boybands were really popular back then when I was growing up and as a teenager, believe me, I was crazy about them. I used to listen to Backstreet boys and Westlife, not to mention that I was crazy about One direction in high school. Boybands were my kind of music and when I started listening to them, nothing else mattered. If you ask my sister, she would probably tell you that I was obsessed haha. I kind of was, but what always mattered to me about music, were two things: lyrics and the melody. 18641289_10210944264895271_1231724250_o (1)When I was younger, the appearance mattered as well, especially of male singers, but you know how it goes, when you are a teenager, right? Lyrics are, especially for me, the most important part of the song. If they are not good or I can’t relate to the song, I probably won’t listen to it. I love songs with good lyrics, because I can imagine myself in the whole story. It may sound ridiculous, but that’s me. And the melody? Well, I love slow songs, accoustic versions if it’s possible, because I think that when the melody as minimal as possible, the true talent of a singer comes out. Yes, I am a romantic as well and that’s why I love ballads as crazy, but I totally found myself in this kind of music.

Besides my obsession with Backstreet boys, I had a major crush on One direction in high school and I’m glad that I did. I’m not ashamed of it, because they were an amazing band, with 5 unique individuals and even though they are not together anymore, they sound amazing as solo singers as well. They all have amazing voices and that’s something that is really important in singing career. I also listened to a couple of Slovenian singers in the past that I was really obsessed with, but not as much as Backstreet boys and One direction.

What do I listen to now? Well, my taste in music isn’t much different than it was a couple of years ago. I still love slow songs and ballads, but lately I’ve found myself liking singers that sing in other languages as well, such as French, Italian and Spanish. Even though I usually don’t understand them, I really enjoy them. After Salvador Sobral won this year’s Eurovision song contest, he said something amazing and it goes like this:15171091_10209374205044756_8786874816523442006_n “I want to say that we live in a world of disposable music – fast food music, without any content and I think that this could be a victory for music with people that make music that actually means something. Music is not fireworks. Music is feeling, so let’s try to change this and bring music back, which is really what matters.” This speech is something that we should all be aware of. Sometimes you don’t understand what the lyrics say, but if you hear them with your heart, believe me, you’ll understand them.

Music was and still is a huge part of my life. When I was down and when I struggled the most in my life, I listened to it. When I experienced the best days of my life, I listened to it. If you ask me, when I listened to a certain song, in most cases, I can tell you, because different periods of my life are connected to certain songs. My whole life is actually connected to music – I used to sing in a school choir, I used to play flute for about 2 years and now I’m surrounded by people that love music as much as I do. I guess you really attract people that are similar to you, right?

3d079a7976507363d59eef421ceee6efMusic is my life and in many cases literally saved me. It was always there for me and I can’t imagine my life without it. I am a very happy and optimistic person and music just adds up that little magic to my life. “Music gives a soul to to the Universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” This is a quote that Plato once said and I have to say that it describes music in the best way possible. Do you like music? Why do you like it? What do you listen to? Music is my escape, my love and my life and as I said, I can’t imagine my life without it.

Until next time,
T.

Oddajte komentar

