Prioritize and focus

18339678_10210830864140323_1065946145_oHello again!

It’s been a week since I’ve written my last blog post, but it feels like an eternity! I guess, writing truly became a part of my life and if I don’t write a blog, one part of my brain says that something is missing. I actually wrote a blog post, but as a guest blogger on another blog. Fliss gave me an amazing opportunity to share my story with her readers and I’m beyond happy and grateful for it. So, I actually wrote a post, but I didn’t post it here.

Todays blog post is one of those, where I don’t know what will actually come out of my writing. It’s totally spontaneous and I don’t know why I always prepared so much for writing a post, back in October 2016, when I started my blog. I was probably a little bit scared of what would everybody else say and I wanted it to be perfect. And now? I still want that you, readers, enjoy it, but I’m more relaxed and honestly, I don’t prepare for majority of them, unless a post is something that needs some basis. Anways, let’s write about todays theme.

Prioritize and focus. What do you think about, when you hear or read those 2 words? My first thought about it is to choose what is important to me and then work on achieveing those ‘things’. It sounds a lot like setting goals and then working on them. And yes, I agree, but not totally. I found this definition for priority and I think it’s quite accurate: ‘something that is more important than other things and that needs to be done or dealt with first’. Priority is not necessarily something that you enjoy 100%, but you actually need to do it. For example: my priority for 20 years of my life was school and only school, but not that much for me, but for my parents.18338988_10210830863940318_1243237307_o I knew they wanted me to be educated and to get an amazing job and consequently live my life in the best way possible. But even though that seemed a lot like my priority back then, it was not MY priority, but I reconciled myself with it. But when I changed my way of thinking, my priorities with school changed a lot. It’s not that I don’t want to be educated and get a job, but I think that there are also other options, besides school, that are good enough. But let’s leave this theme for another post. Last year, I failed on Uni and that’s why this year, I still have exams from last year. Not that I’m proud of that, but everything happens for a reason and even though I didn’t made through my school year, I got a whole another perspective on life and priorities itselves. School wasn’t my priority last year, but I know that in order to pass my school year, I have to work hard and study. And that’s why studying is currently one of my top priorities, even though it’s definitely not my favourite one. But I’ll do, what I have to do.

Besides studying, training for marathon, spending time with people I love, taking time for myself, talking to my sister (she’s in Ireland as au-pair) are definitely some of my priorities. And some of them may seem ridiculous to you, but those are things that matter the most to me and I’ll take time for them, even though that means waking up at 6 am or staying up until 1 am. And that’s where focus plays a huge role. When you decide what is actually important to you or what you have to do, you have to stay focused. You have to stay focused, you have to work hard and one day you’ll get to where you want to come. Focus is something that a lot of people have problems with and you can count me in that category as well. When you start with something, main goal is to stay focused and motivated throughout the whole journey. But in reality, you can hit a wall very quickly. And most people do.18362483_10210830863980319_1003439849_o I’m only three weeks into training for my marathon and I already had a few moments, where I started telling to myself that I’m not capable of doing it. When I started studying a few days ago and I saw how much I have to learn, I almost didn’t start. But I have to keep going. And keep pushing and moving forward. And even though it seems impossible to be done, I know I have the strength and power to finish what I’ve started.

Running a marathon isn’t easy, studying something that you are not interested in, just to pass the exams, isn’t easy. But life isn’t easy. And it’s not meant to be easy. If it would have been easy, we would all be happy as hell, living our lives to the fullest, with our dream job, dream car, happy family and friendships. It doesn’t go like this. Our lives are full of ups and downs and happy moments, mixed with drama and sadness, but the main point that I wanted to tell you with this post is to prioritize and focus. If you can, pick what is important to you and then do on achieving it in the best way possible. If there are things that you are not very fond of, but you have to do them, sit down and do them. Once you get through them, you’ll have plenty of time to do the things that are making you happy. 

I already told you all the priorities that I have right now, in this moment. But there are also some of them that are always next to me and I know they’ll be a part of my future as well. Number one priority is happiness – I am happy right now, but I want to be happy in the future as well. Number two is my family and friends – right now I have amazing people around me and I wouldn’t change them for anything in the world and I know that all of them will be there for me in the future as well. 18361904_10210830864180324_172985451_oNumber three is my health –  I want to be healthy in any way possible and I know that I’m on the right path. Number four of my big priorities is self-love – I want to develop my relationship with myself and I want to continue loving myself and becoming the best version of myself. And last, but definitely not the least, is my life – my life is my priority. I’ve been given this amazing opportunity to live it and to do the best out of everything that has been given to me. And so should you! What are your priorities right now or in life? Ask yourself and stay focused.

Until next time,
T.

Leave a Reply

