There are no perfect conditions

tumblr_ni2pejapnq1th8eo8o1_1280-e1493468428946.jpgHello again!

“If you wait for perfect conditions, you’ll never get anything done.” This quote is one of those that are stuck in my head, whenever I want to find an excuse why not to do something. A lot of times happens that people don’t do something, because they want everything to be perfect, when in reality they are either too scared to do it or they don’t want it badly enough. It’s all part of a perspective and how you actually see it. In this post, I will mainly focus on running and workout, but this can be applied to every part of your life. Hope you enjoy it!

In the past, I was always the one who would’ve found an excuse to miss something out, especially a workout. I never wanted to go out and hang out with my friends, I never went on an adventure, I never met new people – I just wasn’t that kind of a person. I never stepped out of my comfort zone, even though there were things that I’ve wanted to do, but was too scared to even try them. It was the same with a workout. I was always included into different sports, especially volleyball and football, but I never pushed myself out of the comfort zone, so that I could improve and progress even more. 18217586_10210770222944331_2125443355_n

But that changed a lot in last 2 years. I’m doing more things and I try even the stupidest things ever, because I just want to try them. Why not? And you know what? The conditions are never perfect and they never will be. It’s impossible to expect that everything will fall into it’s place perfectly.

How and why did I actually come to this topic? As you probably know, I’m training for my first ever marathon in October and I’m in week 2 of my prep. I run about 5 times per week and it’s mostly running outside. So, the other day, I woke up at 6:30 am, just to go for a run, but it was raining so heavily that I decided that I’ll go for a run later in the day, even though I knew that I have to study and do other things as well. I procrastinated the whole day and in the afternoon I went to my friend and his family and we spent a lovely evening together (as we always do). I came home at 12 pm and I knew that the run from that morning is still waiting for me. I had 2 options: shower and go to sleep or put my Nike shoes on and go for a run. It was still raining as hell and it was so late that I should’ve probably gone to sleep. But I chose the second option and I went for a run. The whole run I was repeating this sentence: “Some call it madness, I call it dedication. Some call it madness, I call it dedication.” It was a short run, but it’s still a run.

When you are training for a marathon, you have your plan set for a week and your responsibility is that you run those runs. I didn’t want to miss that run of mine, because I knew that if I would’ve done it once, I would’ve done it many times later on. 18195774_10210770222904330_315298252_oThe conditions weren’t perfect: it was raining as hell, it was dark and cloudy and even though there were some street lights on, it wasn’t easy. I was tired, but my motivation and determination to run a marathon in October is far more important than all those excuses. Sometimes you have to make sacrifices in order to succeed and I know that when I run that marathon, I’ll remember these tough times, when I pushed myself, even though I wanted to give up. It’s all in your head. I love this quote: “Your body can stand almost anything. It’s your mind that you have to convince.” You are capable of so much more than you think. Once you trick your mind that you are capable of doing it, you’ll do it, no matter what the conditions are. It can snow or rain, but it won’t matter. It’s all in your head.

Finding excuses is probably the biggest enemy you can have in your life and it doesn’t have to be connected to a workout. It can be your job, your relationships, your health – basically anything. If you have decided that you’ll do something, do it and don’t find excuses later on. If you decided to eat healthier, make better food choices and don’t give up the second day. Yes, I know it’s hard at first, but if you want it strong enough, you’ll make it work. I went for a run, because running a marathon is the biggest goal of my life, because it makes me happy and alive and because I’m determined as hell, when it comes to my goals. It’s simple as that. And nothing in that moment would’ve changed my mind, because what you have to do, but enjoy doing, will never make you give up. Also, moments like this (when you want to give up, but you don’t) will strenghten you, motivate you and help you grow even more. Those are the tiniest things which will bring you to your goal.18209784_10210770179223238_2015628113_o

What are your excuses? Is there anything that you want to do, but you are either scared or you find an excuse, whenever you decide to do it? We are all human beings. We are not perfect. And the conditions we are living in, aren’t perfect as well. But we have this one life, one opportunity to do our best. Would you rather live in fear and regret or would you rather take advantage of every single opportunity that crosses your way and make the most out of every situation, no matter what the circumstances are? It’s your choice.

Until next time,
T.

Oddajte komentar

