Why diets don’t work

18110890_10210712287455980_64400091_oHello again!

Nowadays we hear a lot about eating healthy and exercising and wherever you look at, you can find a new diet, from Mediterranean diet to Atkins diet. And if you believe me or not, many people still go after so many different diets and they sooner or later get disappointed. Why? All of these different types of diets are based on either eliminating different food groups or restricting their daily intake and yes, you may lose ‘weight’ (which is mostly water weight), but after you start eating ‘normally’ again, you gain weight back.

If anybody knows anything about different diets and restricting, this is definitely me. I’ve been struggling with my weight literally for all my life, when I finally realized that there is no secret at all. I tried everything from eliminating carbohydrates to including water and fruit days in my diet. But the reality is that you can’t diet for all of your life. All diets are short-term and I don’t know anybody who can diet all the time. Why? Because it’s hard, exhausting and 100% impossible.

anorBut, why diets don’t work? The most important reason is that when you restrict or starve your body, your body, which by the way doesn’t want you to starve, responds oppositely – by slowing your metabolism, which of course makes it harder to lose weight. And I can totally relate to this one. I’ve been dieting for about 4 years, jumping from one diet to another, but none actually gave me the results I wanted. I also restricted myself a lot, which led me into eating disorder, which is no fun at all and I don’t want anybody ever to get into that same position as I was. And because of everything I did to my body and because of all the restrictions I’ve included in my diet, I have a problem with losing weight now. My metabolism is really slow and just because of that, my weight-loss journey goes so slow. But at least I feed my body with good food and I’m grateful that I’m no longer harming it with bad nutrition.

There are also other reasons why diets don’t work. One of them is that diets usually tell you: “Eat this, and don’t eat that.” That means that you don’t make long-term changes – you only stick to these ‘directions’ for a week or two and than you go back to your old, usually bad, eating habits. These type of diets also eliminate important food groups, which may lead you to lack of different nutrients, such as vitamins and minerals, good fats and carbohydrates, which we all know that are fuel to our body. These may lead to bad skin, brittle fingernails, bad breathe, fatigue, weakness, losing hair, losing your period – shortly, diets don’t bring anything good into your lifestyle. But what does?

When we are talking about healthy and active lifestyle, we talk about good and balanced nutrition, regular workout, rest and healthy mind as well. It’s important that you find balance between all of them. When I finally realized that diets don’t work and that I don’t feel well, I knew I have to change something that will last for a longer period of time and that I can maintain for my whole life. I knew that I had to find a balance between my meals, workout and rest. And I did, at least I thought I did. But in reality, I started exercising daily and it felt good, but there were no results. Why? Because I didn’t balance my meals.18090734_10210712288696011_1601252527_o One day I ate 5 healthy meals per day, the other day I only ate 2-3 meals per day and there were days that I actually ate 5 meals per day, but they weren’t healthy at all. I also struggled with drinking enough water and altogether led to no-result at all. You can workout like crazy, but if you eat crappy foods, there won’t be any results.

So, what even works? 80% is nutrition and 20% is workout. Delicious, healthy and balanced meals are the key to success. It’s important that you eat 3 main meals per day, breakfast, lunch and dinner, and at least 2 snack in between those meals. Your meals should include all food groups: proteins, good fats and carbohydrates. Important is that your meals consist of fruits, vegetables and good fats as well. Don’t be afraid to include carbohydrates and fats into your meals – they are important as well. Try to lower your sugar and salt intake, but keep in mind that you can have those as well. Healthy and active lifestyle is not about starving or restricting yourself, it’s a way of life. Try to exercise 5 times per week for about 30 minutes and choose the activity that you love. If you love running, run. If you love playing basketball, play basketball. There is no right or wrong way. Choose what suits you and what you enjoy doing, otherwise you’ll quickly give up. And drink enough water. I already talked about importance of water, but I think that it’s never enough of saying it one more time: drink at least 8 glasses of water for better skin and overall health.

18090901_10210712282375853_1923119034_oWeight control, disease prevention, energy, better mood, proper digestion, better skin – these are just some of the reasons, why healthy and active lifestyle is important and recommended. Besides all of the tips I already gave you, here is the most important one: no matter where you are at right now, always love yourself. There is nothing more important than loving your body, your beautiful mind and your uniqueness. The scale and numbers on it don’t define you. You are not a number! When you stop worrying about your weight, when you start living healthy and active lifestyle, when you truly love yourself, a journey towards your goals will be something you’ll enjoy and have fun with. Do it because of you, because you deserve better and not because of others. “A healthy lifestyle not only changes your body, it changes your mind, your attitude and your mood.” This quote perfectly describes a healthy lifestyle – it’s something that will change you forever, if you give yourself a chance and try.

Until next time,
T.

21 komentarjev Dodaj komentar

  1. chiimmiii pravi:

    This is so true, you are not a number, just be you and love yourself 🙂
    Loved reading this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Exactly! Numbers can’t outweigh someone’s personality. Thank you! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. PrachiJ pravi:

    I agree. It is not possible to continue dieting throughout one’s life. Nice Article! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      It was my pleasure. Thank you! 😊

      Všeč mi je

  3. Matt pravi:

    Perfect post and I know it is 100% true. Diets come and go as will weight loss. It’s about a lifestyle change and getting the balance of food and exercise. It’s a shame so many people are ready to exploit other insecurities by promising otherwise, and as for weight loss pils- arghhh! Love the final paragraph too, love yourself no matter what shape you are, that is the key to happiness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Weight loss pills and different teas etc. are stories for itself as well haha. As you said: it’s crazy that so many people actually go after them, even though they see that they don’t work. But I hope that sooner or later everybody realizes it. Thanks for commenting! 😊

      Všeč mi je

  4. Arunas pravi:

    If you work physical hard almost every day, you eat without limit then. But if you spend work hours on chair, you are not in need of fat and too sweet food. It’s simple.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lunar Lunar pravi:

    a healthy balance is key, great write up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sumit Sharma pravi:

    Oh! Thanks for sharing such details about diet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      My pleasure! Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. nlizanora pravi:

    It takes a lot of effort actually. With balance diet, exercise and healthy lifestyle it can be achived

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Exactly, it’s a combination and balance of everything mixed together 😊

      Všeč mi je

  8. Jenni Petrey pravi:

    I’ve never been a fan of diets. I would prefer to eat a balanced diet and live a healthy life. This is a great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Totally agree with you! Thank you! 😃

      Všeč mi je

  9. sMichaelou pravi:

    I agree with you, like, 100%. I feel like I want to hug you because I feel the same way and had very similar experience with dieting… and the problems it brings. I got into quite serious binge-restricting cycle, and it took me some time to realise, how unhealthy and dangerous it is. Starting eating healthily, big portions, allowing myself a treat did not really lead to weight loss, however, it made me feel better and healthier…. and that’s the starting point for everything, I guess 😀 great article ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Oh my god, you literally made my evening right now. I want to hug you back as well. I’m sorry to hear that you had a similar experience as me, but I’m glad you are getting better. It’s actually crazy, because you don’t realize until it’s almost too late. And if you are lucky enough, you get yourself out of it and don’t fall even deeper. I also think that you can actually fall into an eating disorder quite fast and even though people think that it’s not common at all, a lot of young people struggle and don’t tell anybody. And that’s definitely something I want to spread around the globe and if I can help at least one person, I’ll be happy. If you ever need somebody to talk to, I’m always here for you. You can also add me on Facebook. Thank you one more time for your kind comment. Love, T. ❤

      Všeč mi je

Oddajte komentar

