Why, how and is it even possible?

davHello!

As you probably know, I ran my first half-marathon about 4 months ago (on January 1st, if I’m exact). That was one of the biggest achievements in my life and one step closer to my lifetime goal – running a marathon. I don’t even know, how this goal occured in my mind, because I was never a runner. I ran what I had to – those 60m, 600m and 2k runs in school, but I was always in the background. I never loved running, because it was hard and because I was never good at it. But when I came in high school, I started running more and I found out that maybe I have a potential with it. I started running a few runs per week and I was able to run 10k after a few weeks. And that was mostly it. I don’t remember that I would ever run more than that back then. Then I injured my ankle and my dreams literally fell apart (you can read more about it in this post). But after more than a year of not running at all, my ankle got better and I was able to run again. And since then, I enjoy running more than anything in the world.

In September 2016, I got an idea of running a half-marathon, which is 21,1k or 13,1 miles. And even though I’ve never ran this far, I decided to challenge myself and I started with my 4-months-long-training. Everything was going really smooth and I felt really confident with running a half-marathon. If anyone of you is interested in my training plan, I used personalized plan in Nike+ Run Club app and I was really satisfied with it. You can set what your goal is and when you want to achieve it, how many times per week you are able to run and I really like it. 15781070_10209728924512521_8254053988268850070_nSo, everything was amazing, until in the middle of November, I injured my knee (I guess, injuries always follow me) and I wasn’t able to run for a month. I was angry as hell, but I still believed that I can make it. So, I was able to run only two more runs before my race day and then, even though I wasn’t 100% ready, I ran my first half-marathon. And it was tough as hell. First 10k was amazing and up until 15k, I felt great, but then I hit the wall. My legs became heavy, my muscles hurt and last 3k were literally the toughest 20 minutes of my life. I literally didn’t feel my legs, but I wanted to finish, because I didn’t come this far just to give up. And I made it! I ran my first half-marathon.

After that run, I didn’t run for almost 4 months – not because I couldn’t, I just started going to the gym again and worked more on my strength. But now, after all this time, I need new challenge and that challenge is a marathon. When I ran 21,1k, I said to myself that I’m not able to run a marathon, because I barely ran half-marathon. But I believe that I can do it and on April 17th I started my 183-days-long-training. I will try my hardest and I know that on October 16th, I will be ready to smash probably the biggest goal in my life.

WHY I want to run a marathon? First and the most important reason is because I love running. Running strengthens me so much and it gives me the confidence in myself. I learnt how to be determined, dedicated and how to not give up, even when I feel like it. Running gives me the belief in myself that I never had before. And the second thing that made me decide that I will run a marathon is approval. Not approval from others, but approval from myself. davI want to prove to myself that I am capable of something like this and I know I can do it. I want to take my running on a whole new level and you never know what this experience will bring me. This is definitely something that is way beyond my comfort zone and that’s why I want to do it as well. I want to challenge myself in a totally new way and inspire somebody else to do the same, because when you step out of your comfort zone, amazing things happen.

HOW will I train? As I already mentioned, I am using Nike+ Run App as my training plan. I will run from 4 to 5 times per week, different styles of running, from short runs, sprints to long and recovery runs. I will have at least 1 or 2 rest days per week and I will include some workouts in the gym as well, but nothing heavy, because I don’t want to injure myself and I don’t want to burn out. My marathon prep will last 183 days and race day is on October 16th. I won’t include any supplements in my training, especially in the first 90 days, because my runs won’t be longer than 15k. When my longer runs will get to 20k or more, I’ll probably include Herbalife24 Prolong during my workouts, but other than that, I won’t use anything.

Is it POSSIBLE for me to run 42,2k? Yes, I totally believe I can do it, if I won’t injure myself during the prep. I know it will be hard, because why the hell would a marathon be something easy, right? I am confident and I know I will do it. This 6 months will be an amazing adventure for me and even though I am a little bit scared, I am excited as well, because I know I’ll remember this journey forever. davI don’t have any particular time in my mind, because I just want to run it. But I hope that I will manage to run it under 5 hours.


“A marathon will help you discover the strengths you never knew you had.”
I love this quote, because running a marathon requires your determination, dedication, persistance, courage and belief in yourself and the journey towards your goal. And a person to run a marathon must be extremely strong and powerful – that’s why not everybody are able to run it. I know I am strong, physically and mentally, powerful, confident and extremely crazy to even think about running a marathon. But because of all of these qualities and even more, I know that in 6 months I will smash my first ever marathon – I will be born again.

Until next time,
T.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Davide Mana says:

    Congratulations!
    I too injured a knee, just as I had started hiking, two years back. It took me a lot of time to get back in shape (I had to lose weight to help the knee recover), but now I’ve started walking in the countryside again, and it feels great.
    Best wishes for your marathon project!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob says:

      Thank you Davide! 🙂
      Yes, injuries are something athletes and we, who love sports, never want, but they happen. I think that the best thing to do is to rest and then get back to whatever you are doing. I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better as well. Wish you all the best! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. maketravelreality says:

    So good! Keep up the good work girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob says:

      Thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

  3. Go ahed, girl! Keep up the good work!
    http://www.stylequest.se/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob says:

      Thank you Sonja! 😊

      Like

  4. Amazing post thanks for sharing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob says:

      Thank you! 😃

      Like

  5. Ravi says:

    I’ve never tried running in a marathon.Now ii have some motivation..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob says:

      It’s not easy, but it will be worth it. You should definitely try! Thank you! 😊

      Like

  6. dsilva001 says:

    GreT post. Good to see that you’re focussed on the challenge despite the injuries that got in your way.

    Like

  7. Mercy says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed Tinkara! I am a bit lazy when it comes to running, but I do engage in a lot of hiking and mountain climbing whenever I have the chance. I once did a full day mountain climbing in Bavaria and I couldn’t walk properly for a week! I was so out of shape hahaha…I think I’m going to try some exercise apps this May, who knows it might help me be more disciplined in staying fit. All the best with your marathon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

