Have you ever thought about it?

Hello!

17916171_10210646026559499_803840047_oA few days ago I was talking to my cousin Natalija and she said to me: “Have you ever thought that you would be working on yourself so much?” And my answer was “No.” But why? Because I was never taught that I should work on myself or better myself in any meaning of the word. It’s crazy that life can turn around in such a different way and me, working on myself, is one of the best things that could’ve happened to me.

Natalija is somebody, who was by my side through good and bad, and I can’t tell you, how grateful I am for her. She is one of my best friends and as I said, she was always there for me. And still is. She was always there, when I needed help, a hug or just a friendly advice. She was there for me, when I needed somebody to talk and listen to. She is an amazing friend and even though I don’t tell her that enough, I really appreciate everything that she has ever done for me and I am really, really happy and grateful that she has been on this journey with me. And just because she was always there for me, she knows me very well and that question from the other day was not just a coincidence.
She knows how unhappy and unsatisfied I was, when I was in primary and high school and she knew that even though I was happy and smiling at that time, that I was only ‘faking’ it. 16808368_10210150818179599_1155861336_nAnd that was probably the time that we connected the most, because she understood me and even though she couldn’t have done anything, she listened to me and tried to help me. We have very similar personalities and that’s probably why we connected so much. We feel the same, we act the same, even our goals and dreams are similar as well. That’s why she can understand me so well.

When I started dieting and then fell into an eating disorder, she was one of those, who weren’t judging me for what I’ve done and one of those, who truly told me that they are worried about me. And believe me or not, there were not a lot of people who cared as much as she did. She was there for me, when I was recovering, she was there for me, when I gained my weight back, she was there for me, when I started with healthy and active lifestyle and she is still here for me today. She was with me, when I was dealing with my health, school and family problems. She was practically always there and I’m thankful to her, with my whole heart.

And because of that and many other reasons, I started crying, when she asked me that question about a week ago. She knows me so well and that’s exactly why this question meant so much to me. She knows I’ve changed a lot in the last year and a half and even though I am a totally different person now, she still loves me and supports me. She knows how much I’ve actually changed and one thing that also meant a lot to me was this: “It’s a real pleasure to see you so satisfied with yourself and happy and positive.” This is something I’ve been working on for about 2 years and I know some people aren’t okay with that. But, let me tell you this one more time: whatever you’ll decide, will always affect a lot of people in a positive way and some of them in a negative way. You will lose some of them, but you will gain a lot of them. 17950107_10210646027239516_1033745039_oThe most important thing is that you choose what is best for you and not for others. I did that and that’s why I am the person whose blog you are reading right now.

Nothing in life is easy. Everything you decide, has it’s own consequences. good and bad. And believe me, I definitely know that. But I suggest you that you always listen to your heart and to yourself, because whatever you’ll decide, will be your own best choice. If you feel that you are not in the best place and want to change something, do it. I gave myself a chance and I am happy and positive, even though there are still some people who intentionally want to prove me wrong. But if I’ve learnt anything, I know that I have to stand behind my choices and myself and I’m glad that I do. I’m much stronger as a person and even though some people still want to play with my mind, unfortunately for them, they don’t have a chance.

I was working on myself in the past, I am still working on myself now and believe me or not, I will work on myself in the future as well. It’s truly a lifetime process and it’s probably because you can always become a better version of yourself.17916244_10210646026839506_1542485226_o Set small goals, work on yourself and sooner or later you’ll come to a point in your life, when you’ll feel happy with yourself and your life. Nothing happens over night and working on yourself requires patience and determination and dedication. But when you will look how far you have come, you will be surprised. A lot can happen in a year, two or even more. I’m a totally different person today than I was a year ago. Why? Because I wasn’t myself back then and I finally found out who I am, who I want to be and what I want in my life. And I will get it, because through this process of working on myself, I learnt how to stay determined and go after what I want. I hope you do the same.

Until next time,
T.

30 komentarjev Dodaj komentar

  1. Davide Mana pravi:

    Being alive means making choices.
    But it’s certainly good to have someone near that can stand with us and with the choices we make.
    Keep going your way, and be strong!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Exactly! Thank you so much! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post…it’s always good to remember friends/family who helped us through difficult times…Having someone remind you of your successful journey is great and motivates you. Shout out to your cousin…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Thank you! Yes, totally agree with you. It’s definitely easier to have somebody who support you along your journey 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ravi pravi:

    Tough times don’t remain, tough people do..you always remeber people you were at your support during these times..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Yes, true story 👌

      Všeč mi je

  4. Sze Kim pravi:

    Well write, your word do recall my memory with my best friend, but I never tell him how much I appreciate him and after reading your post, I think I should do the same. Let him know what I think.
    Nothing in life is easy, I love this one, and I strongly agree with that. Thank you for writing this up. Wish you all the best in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Thank you! We sometimes take others people love, support and help for granted and I think that we should remind ourselves how grateful we are for those kinds of people. Thank your friend for being there for you – you will see how happy he will be 😊

      Všeč mi je

  5. alli pravi:

    I love this. I am constantly working on my self and I worry that I am judged for it but after reading this post I looked back on my own progress and I am actually quite proud for not giving up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Yes, you go girl! Working on yourself is still not something that people accept – they usually find it weird. But just keep going, because investment in yourself is probably the best investment you can make.😉 I’m proud of you!

      Všeč mi je

  6. Mercy pravi:

    Some friends are treasures and lucky are the people who have friends like the one you have. And I have also learned that the best friends in life are those who stand by you even when you change. Thank you for giving me hope in friendship again .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      You are welcome!
      And yes, I totally agree with you. You realize who your true friends are, when you are struggling and having different problems. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. shahins.info pravi:

    With our busy schedule, most of the time we forget those helpers, without whom we would incomplete. truly. I always tried to recall them with some gifts or call them yearly once or twice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      it’s sad, but true. I think that we can all make that call or visit them for a couple of minutes. It doesn’t need to be an expensive gift, it can be a just hug or a talk. People nowadays cherish little things more than some expensive stuff, especially the ones that support and love you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post! It’s a bless to have somebody who support you along your journey.
    http://www.stylequest.se/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Totally agree with you! 🙂

      Všeč mi je

  9. Adel pravi:

    Lovely post. You are blessed to have such a friend. Friends turn into our chosen family

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      I’ve been really blessed this past year and I can’t even believe that I have so many amazing people around me – it’s crazy. Life really surprises you, when you don’t expect it at all. Thank you! 🙂

      Všeč mi je

  10. KuminKueche pravi:

    Loved this post! It’s always great to have someone by your side, support, protect and help you through your journey of life.. God bless family and friends 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Thank you! 🙂
      Totally agree with you – I’m beyond grateful for them.

      Všeč mi je

  11. dsilva001 pravi:

    Great post. Spending time on yourself is the best way to grow and develop as a person. Glad you have someone by your side for your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. dsilva001 pravi:

    Great post, Spending time to work on yourself is the best way to grow and develop in life and having someone to support you makes the journey a better experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Having somebody by your side, sharing your journey with, is probably the best thing ever! Thank you! 🙂

      Všeč mi je

  13. This is such a beautiful post you’ve written!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Tiina A pravi:

    it’s great to have a friend who stands by you and gives her support both in good and not-so good times. Life is never easy, we all struggle every now and then, but friends and family give us that hope that we can make it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Exactly! It’s always better to have somebody by your side, who can encourage, help and support you, than to be alone. Thank you! )

      Všeč mi je

  15. Thomas Djukic pravi:

    Support of family or friends is always important for reaching goals in life.I am so happy for you! 😀 Samo napred imas podrsku i sa moje strane! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tinkaragolob pravi:

      Eee, hvala ti Thomas!! 😊

      Všeč mi je

Oddajte komentar

