Drink water

16936263_10210201574048464_1238607607_oHello!

Lately I’ve found myself really struggling with drinking enough water on a daily basis, especially because I’m always doing something and I just forget about it. But even though I had some problems with it, I still managed to reach my daily intake, about 2 litres. And I believe that I’m definitely not the only one, having problems with drinking water. Why is drinking water so important? What can help you drink more water? Read this post and you’ll have all the information that can help you to get enough water in your body.

Just like my weigh-loss journey, I had a true roller-coaster with drinking my water as well. I’ve never drank water, until I came in the high school. I started drinking it, but it was hard, so I gave up quickly. And when I was on my first ‘weight-loss mission’, I didn’t drink any water, because I knew that if I would’ve drank it, the number on my scale would’ve been bigger than I wanted. So I didn’t drink it. And that was probably one of the biggest mistakes at that time. Why? My skin and mouth were dry, I was tired all the time, I had painful headaches and they lasted for 3 days, my stomach hurt and I just didn’t feel okay. But we learn from mistakes and if I’ve learnt anything from that experience, it is definitely to drink water. So, I slowly started drinking it and when I came on Uni, I was finally able to drink at least 2 litres of water per day.

Pouring water into glassWe all underestimate the power of drinking water. Why is drinking water so important for our bodies? Our bodies are composed from about 60-70% of water and water has an important role in maintaining the balance of body fluids. The functions of these bodily fluids include digestion, absorption, circulation, transportation of nutrients, and maintenance of body temperature. Another benefit of drinking is that your skin will look better and healthier. If you are dehydrated, your skin looks more dry and wrinkled and water will actually help you replenish skin tissues, moisturize skin and increase the elasticity in your skin. One and probably the best advantage of drinking water for me, is definitely that water helps with headaches and migraines. Those two are usually caused by dehydration and whenever you have one of them, drink plenty of water and the intensity of a headache or migraine will definitely decrease. If you feel tired all the time, there is a high chance that it could be due to inadequate consumption of water which makes the body function less efficiently. Drinking water improves your mood, helps in digestion and constipation and believe me or not, it actually adds to weight loss. When you drink water, it fills your stomach and reduces the tendency to eat more. It also helps to increase the rate at which the body burns fat, and promotes the breakdown and elimination of fat cells. Water also flushes out toxins, regulates body temperature, relieves hangover and beats bad breath.

If you’ve read that paragraph, you’re probably asking yourself, why don’t you drink enough water, right? But how to drink enough water, when it doesn’t taste good or if you just forget about drinking it? I’ll give you some tips and I hope they’ll help you to get that daily water intake in your body. One of the best tips, I also got a few years ago, is that you should buy a water bottle, 0,5L or 1L, and keep it beside you all the time. adobestock_66163000-750x500If you’re working on the computer, have it by your side, drink it and then fill it up again. This will definitely help you to drink more water. Another amazing tip I have for you, is if you don’t like the taste of water, add aloe, lemon or cut fruits and add it in. It will taste better and it will add to your daily intake. If you have troubles with drinking enough water, drink a glass of water when you wake up and before you go to sleep. Also, drink a glass of water before every meal. This will help you get more water into your body, but it will also aid in weight loss, because the water will fill your stomach and therefore decrease your appetite. You can also download an app, where you can track your daily water intake and when you drink a glass of water, track it in there and at the end of the day you can see how much water you drank. Also, if you workout, don’t forget to drink water before, during and after your workout. And if you really struggle with drinking it, switch it for a tea – it may help with water goal for a day, but don’t drink sweet teas. Drink herbal teas that have a good ammount of antioxidants and health benefits.

16936071_10210201574088465_416792009_oThese are just some of the benefits of drinking water and tips for drinking more of it. Most of my life I didn’t drink water, then I had struggles with drinking it and now I finally manage to drink the right amount of water for my body. One of my favourites benefits is definitely that I don’t have headaches anymore and if I manage to get one, I drink plenty of water and it goes away as quickly as it occured. I hope I convinced you that you start drinking more water and I hope those tips of mine help you to reach you daily intake. What are your excuses for not drinking water? Will you start drinking it? Did I help you? Thanks for reading and we’ll see each other in a next blog post.

Until next time,
T.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

