My little angel

Hello again!

As you probably know, I have older brother and younger sister. The relationship with my brother Nejc was always quiet stable, we were always close and especially when he got his current girlfriend Tina, we became closer as never before. But the relationship with my sister Zala, well, this one was a true roller-coaster. From hating each other in the past to loving each other now. It’s crazy how simple things can change so quickly. And todays post will be dedicated to her, because she is one of the most important people in my life and I love her to death.

2013-08-29-15-33-28When we were younger, we spent a lot of our time together. We were always playing together, fighting with each other, running around the house like two crazy monkeys – we were together almost all the time. We are only 2 years apart and the difference allowed us to do almost everything the same way. If you ask our parents or any other relative, how were we as kids, you would probably get the same answer: “They were crazy.” We were far from being loving sisters, supporting each other and always sticking together when we did something wrong. We were fighting like crazy. And I literally mean it. We were making fun of each other, pinching and biting each other, hitting each other – I could go on and on, but it doesn’t make any sense. We were nothing like we are now. We never stuck together. When we did something wrong, my sister was usually the one that was guilty, even though she wasn’t always the one who made a mess. But when you are a kid, you don’t think about guilt a lot. You just make sure that parents don’t catch you in the middle of making something you aren’t allowed to.

11180637_10207342251167179_7218277811848869491_nOur relationship started changing when I went in High school in Maribor and I was driving every day for an hour there and an hour back. We didn’t see each other a lot and even though I was at home in the afternoon and evening, I usually studied and didn’t have time for her. And this is definitely something I really regret. I was such an introvert at that time and my only focus was studying for school. I literally didn’t have social life and going out just wasn’t for me. A big part in this had my parents with the way they raised us, but when you are such an introvert as I was, you don’t care about anything else. You just want peace and nobody around you who would bother you. And if I could’ve changed one thing from my past, I would definitely spend more of my time with my sister and less of my time worrying about unimportant things.

But when I went on Uni 3 years ago and I only came home for the weekend, our relationship really started growing and I’m glad that it did, because without our strong relationship, we wouldn’t be able to ‘survive’ through the most difficult times in past year and a half. She contended with her own difficulties, I had my own ones and together we went through some family changes nobody ever expected. But those situations made our relationship even stronger and from literally hating each other for 15, 16 years of our lives, we became each others supporters and sisters in the full meaning of the word.

13092110_10207604612686053_3105135631224902051_nI’m so grateful to have her in my life. She was by my side when I needed her the most. She was the one that never judged me, always tried to help me, listened to me, gave me an advice. Her support meant the world to me, when I needed it the most and even though we are totally different in every aspect you can think of, we always know how to help each other. It’s probably some sister’s instinct. I know that whenever I have something on my mind and want to talk to somebody, I can turn to her. Yes, sometimes she can be a real pain in the ass, but so am I. We don’t agree all of the time, nobody does. But that is the secret of the real relationship. At the end, we always come together.


Zala, if you are reading this (and you probably are, because I am gonna make you read it), remember this: you are an amazing person, very smart and perfect in your own way. Whatever you are going through in your life, you will go through, because you are strong enough to survive every situation and obstacle that gets on your way. Wherever the life takes you, remember that everything happens for a reason. 15966145_10209792031450155_3576688615918607605_nWhatever you decide to do, do it and don’t think twice, because life is too short to live with regret. Listen to your heart and not someone else who doesn’t know what you want and desire. You are extremely talented for writing and taking professional photographs. You are an amazing person and whoever you’re gonna spend your life with, will be lucky to have you in their life. You are and always will be my little angel, my sister, my best friend who can be stubborn from time to time. But this is you and I love you just the way you are. I wouldn’t want anybody else to be my sister, because you are irreplaceable. I can’t imagine my life without you and I will be giving you a hard time in the future. Because if I don’t, who will? Remember that you always have a bigger sister, who is watching after you and if you ever need anything, just call me. I am here for you and I always will be. Love you, my little pumpkin.

Until next time,
T.

Leave a Reply

