Year of you

16010097_10209842044540451_746539078_oHello!

This blog post will be dedicated to probably one of the most important things in my life right now and that’s self-love. I’ve already written about importance of taking time for yourself and loving yourself, but this year I’ve decided to take it to a whole new level. I’ve done a lot about loving and accepting myself in the last year, but this year will be MY year.

So, what is Year of you? It’s a concept of working on yourself – to accept and love your true self and care for you in best way possible. I’ve heard about this concept in the middle of 2016, when I was watching a youtuber Marissa Lace, which is literally one of the best people that I’ve met through social media. She ‘invented’ Year of you and started it in January 2016, but back then I wasn’t ready to commit to myself and start changing things. So, I started working on myself later on, but I did it by myself. I don’t actually even remember how I started it. All I know is that I started reading a lot of self-development books, watching videos on Youtube, especially motivational ones and I started solving everything that bothered me at that time. It’s important that you always stay honest with yourself and figure out what’s keeping you at the exactly same spot as you were before. If you don’t progress, you have to change something.

What exactly changed for me? Firstly, I changed my point of view on the past events that happened to me, before I hit my rock bottom. Everything that happened, happened for a certain reason and I decided that I won’t rack my brains because of it. What happened in the past, already happened and it’s already gone.
Secondly, I put myself first. I knew that I have to take care of myself, otherwise I would be even more lost than I already was. That means that every day, I included one thing that was important to me, for example running, painting my nails, watching a movie, reading a good book – something that made me happy and at peace with myself. I know some of you may find it ridiculous, but it’s really important to have that time for yourself.
Third and probably one of the most important things I did last year,15966707_10209809429045084_229373471_o was removing toxic people from my life. That was the most difficult thing I’ve ever done, but sometimes you have to do tough things to start shining again. Negativity, sadness, anger, despair, doubt – those are only one of the qualities of those people and if I tell you honestly, I didn’t need that in my life. All I wanted and still want, are positivity, happiness, hope, gratitude, joy, love – those qualities are the ones that I need in my life. Removing toxic people from my life was the biggest change I’ve done and boy, am I happy that I did it. Changing negativity for positivity is the biggest transition one can make. And I highly suggest it!
And there were other little things I’ve done. Every day I wrote down 3 things that I’m grateful for and even though they were small things, they made me realize that I should be grateful for my life, for the people I’ve met, for all the opportunites I’ve been given, for all the lesson I’ve learnt. Small things make difference! Saying ‘No’ to people or things I didn’t want to do – I still have to work on that, but the attitude I’ve built is totally different that the one I had before.
Besides those things that helped me mentally, I started going to the gym, started running again (which was always my passion), started taking care of my body as well. I also found things that I’m passionate about and I love doing them. I opened myself to the world, started writing my blog and meeting amazing people that I’ve never imagined I would’ve met. I changed myself for 360 degrees and from a total introvert, I became so much more an extrovert.

16009931_10209842044820458_1955283584_oAll those positive changes brought me to where I am today and I’m grateful for everything that happened to me through that transition – from the bad things to the ones I’ll remember forever. So, this year I’ve made a decision that I want to work on myself even more. And it started pretty amazing. I’ve ordered 2 very important books for me and I want to share them with you, because they are amazing for those who want to become more confident and find their own happiness in life.
The first one is Instant happy journal, 365 days of inspiration, gratitude and joy, by Karen Salmansohn. It’s cute and small book, which gives you different quotes, provoking questions and themes to think about every single day, in the morning or in the evening.
And the second book is Find your happy daily mantras by Shannon Kaiser. This book came 10 days later as I expected, but it doesn’t matter, I just started using it a few days after New year. And this book provides 365 days of inspiration to cultivate more self-awareness, confidence and inner peace.
So, when I wake up and eat my breakfast, I sit down and open those two books. I read the first one, take a notebook and write down everything I have on my mind for the quote that I read. And then open the second one and do the same. Then I write a summary of both and post one paragraph of my thoughts on social media, usually on Facebook. And that’s my morning routine.
I also introduced some changes in the evening routine. I don’t use any social media 1 hour before I go to sleep and every evening I write down one thing that happen16106160_10209842044860459_1461398717_oed to me in that day or something that I’m grateful for in that day and put that piece of paper in my Jar of moments. I’ll look at those moments at the end of 2017 – I can’t wait!

So, here is a little something that I do to build my confidence, to be grateful and happy. I changed so much in last few months and I want to improve that part in my life even more. What are my goals for Year of you? I want to work especially on overcoming my fear in certain situations, say ‘NO’ more often, continue loving my body and myself, be more confident and I want to stay happy and positive. I think that putting yourself first is something that everyone should do and if you need any help, I’ll be glad to help you.

Until next time,
T.

En komentar Dodaj komentar

Oddajte komentar

