Running – my passion

Hello!

14495444_10208792837150922_7105311904935435898_nThis post will be a little bit different than last ones, but still one of my favourites. Why? Because I will write about one of my biggest passions right now and that’s running. Yes, you read right. Running is probably one of the best things that I’ve ever had courage for and decided to try. And I just love it. But it wasn’t always like this.

As I already said in my first post, I was a chubby child and never fond of doing any type of sport. Any! I was running cross-country (around 2k) and those short runs in primary school, but mostly because I had too. I really didn’t love running at that time.

When I came in high school, I became more active and when I was in that first stage of ‘losing’ weight, I decided that I will run. And I still remember my first run so vividly. I put on my workout clothes and my trainers and just went for a run. WIthout any stretching, knowing where I’m going or how far I’m going to run. I just wanted to prove to myself and others that I was capable of so much more than everybody thought. I was struggling the whole way, but I managed to ran 10k, which was at that moment a lot for me. I’ve never run for real before, not even close to 10k. But I was so stubborn that at the end I ran 10k. Just like that. Not to mention that everything hurt me for about 7 or 10 days and I wasn’t able to do any activity. But I kind of liked it.

20140524_225625My true love for running started when I was in third year of high school. I started running short distances and in a few weeks I was able to run 5k. But then one day my aunt asked me if I would go on a 10k race with her. I laughed at first, because I’ve never run 10k before and I didn’t believe for a moment that I was able to run such a long distance. But I applied. I’m not quite sure when exactly it was, but I believe it was in May 2013. It was a night run and if I’m honest, I really enjoyed it. And that was my first official 10k run.

In September, that same year, I injured my ankle and wasn’t able to run for about 8 months. Even doctors didn’t know what exactly was wrong with my ankle, but it really hurt me if I was running or just walking uphill. Of course I was sad, because I really enjoyed running and it was kind of dissappointing that it happened right at that time. But everything happens for a reason, right?

I remember that in summer 2014 I ran again, but I couldn’t run long distances. My ankle was still hurting and I was able to run just around 5k. I was really angry at that time, because I wanted to run, but just couldn’t. I tried a few times that year and in 2015, but runs were not exciting for me anymore. That was the moment when I decided that I will give myself a break from running and try to heal my ankle properly.

runBut I didn’t give up. Quite the contrary! In September 2016, I went for my first run after a year. It was probably the best run in my life. I didn’t have any particular goal, because I didn’t know in what ‘shape’ my ankle was, but I ran 11k. 11k! I felt like a superwoman! It was not about running such a long distance at all. A year ago I stopped running because of my ankle issues and at that time I thought I would have never run again. My dreams of running a marathon suddenly crashed. But I believed that one day I’ll be able to run again. And that was that moment. That’s why I felt so proud and happy that I ran those 11k. I finally had my dream of running a marathon back again. And I know I will get it, it’s just a matter of time.

14962874_10209148018670238_475836373_nMy first goal is to run half marathon (21k) and I want to run it in exactly 2 months, on 1.1.2017. I’m already working on it and my plan is to be ready on new year’s day. If nothing major happens, such as injury or anything else, I know I will be ready. I believe in myself, I’m working every single day and I can’t wait for that day to arrive. It will be just another proof that I’m capable of achieving something much bigger than I’ve ever imagined and just another step towards my dream – running a marathon.

But why do I enjoy running so much? Besides becoming stronger every single day, it’s a variety of reasons why I love it so much. Firstly, I’m not running because of others or because I want to lose weight. I’m doing it for myself, because I want to be healthy and strong at the same time. You might think that I’m talking bullshit, but I truly enjoy running. I’m not saying that it’s easy. It’s still hard as hell, especially on those days when I’m not feeling like running at all. But the feeling after a run is priceless.

One of the reasons why I enjoy it so much is nature. I love nature and peace and birds singing and fresh air. I just love everything outside. And being able to run in such beautiful places, it’s amazing. I run even when it’s raining. Not because I’m crazy enough to do it or because I want to get sick, but because it’s so relaxing to run in the rain. I’m not made of sugar and a little rain won’t hurt me. Yes, I know it sounds beyond crazy, but try it and then tell me how you feel about it. I promise you, you will love it.
One more note here. When I run, I almost never use headphones and listen to the music. I used to do it all the time, until my headphones stopped working (fortunately), but from that moment on I’ve never used them again. It’s totally different when there’s no music and it’s only you with your own thoughts, but it’s amazing.

14918800_10209135768483991_6231769452460086292_o

There are a lot of other reason. I run because it’s free. If I would go to yoga, aerobics or any other classes, I would give so much money. For running, you just have to buy some trainers and off you go. I also run, because I can think clearly. When I do my runs in the morning, everything seems so clear and I feel more productive through the day. And there are also some health benefits: I can sleep better, I have more energy through the day, I feel healthier, I am healthier, my skin looks better and I’m not under stress so much. Can you believe that these all come just because of running?

It has never been about running a million miles per week for me. We all start somewhere at the beginning with different predispositions; some can run 10k instantly, some may struggle for months to get there, some will never get 14936953_10209148018510234_1205920094_nthere. But it’s not about that at all. It’s important that you run for yourself, because you like it, because you enjoy it, because it makes you stronger and most importantly, because you love it. If you don’t like running, don’t force yourself to do it, because you will not get far and you will hate it even more. There are so many other sports you can enjoy and believe me, there is something for everybody.
“I run best when I run free,” said famous American runner Steve Prefontaine. Don’t let running become your obligation. Don’t feel like you have to do it, because all your friends are running or because you ate a little too much that day. Run because you can and because you love it. There are still so many roads waiting for you; explore them and run your heart out.

Until next time,
T.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

